Sahara highest point Emi Koussi

Sahara highest point Emi Koussi

The Sahara Desert is one of the largest deserts in the world, covering an area of approximately 3.6 million square miles in North Africa. It is the third-largest desert after Antarctica and the Arctic, and it spans across 11 countries, including Algeria, Chad, Egypt, Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Western Sahara, Sudan, and Tunisia. The Sahara is a harsh and unforgiving environment that is characterized by extreme heat, dryness, and a lack of vegetation.

Geographically, the Sahara is primarily composed of sand dunes, rocky plateaus, and gravel plains. The desert is divided into several regions, including the Western Sahara, the Libyan Desert, the Nubian Desert, the Tibesti Mountains, and the Saharan Atlas. The highest point in the Sahara is the Emi Koussi mountain, which rises to a height of 11,204 feet in Chad.

The Sahara has a complex geological history that dates back millions of years. It was once a tropical forest that was home to a diverse range of plants and animals, including elephants, giraffes, and crocodiles. However, over time, the region experienced significant climate changes that caused it to transform into the arid desert we know today.

Sahara highest point Emi Koussi

The Sahara’s history is also rich with human activity. Archaeological evidence suggests that humans have inhabited the region for at least 500,000 years. The earliest known civilization in the Sahara was the Neolithic culture, which existed between 10,000 and 5,000 BCE. This culture was known for its sophisticated pottery, agriculture, and trade networks.

In the centuries that followed, several powerful empires emerged in the Sahara, including the Garamantes, the Ghana Empire, the Mali Empire, and the Songhai Empire. These empires thrived on the trade of salt, gold, and other commodities that were in high demand throughout the region. They also made significant contributions to art, literature, and science, and they left behind numerous artifacts and monuments that continue to be studied by archaeologists and historians.

However, the Sahara’s history is also marked by periods of conflict and conquest. In the 7th century, Arab conquerors brought Islam to the region, which led to significant cultural and political changes. The Arabization of the Sahara led to the decline of many indigenous languages and cultures, although some, such as the Berber languages, continue to be spoken today.

In more recent history, the Sahara has been the site of several wars and conflicts. In the 19th century, European powers, including France, Spain, and Italy, colonized much of North Africa, including parts of the Sahara. These colonial powers often clashed with each other and with local populations, leading to numerous wars and uprisings.

Despite these challenges, the Sahara remains an important part of Africa’s cultural and natural heritage. It is home to a diverse range of wildlife, including the Saharan cheetah, the dromedary camel, and the addax antelope. It is also a significant source of minerals, including oil, natural gas, and phosphates.

In recent years, there has been growing interest in developing renewable energy sources in the Sahara, including solar and wind power. These initiatives have the potential to not only provide clean energy to the region but also to boost economic development and create new job opportunities.



Highest point:

Emi Koussi  (3,415 m)


Chad, Algeria, Eritrea, Libya, Egypt, Mali, Niger, Mauritania, Morocco, Tunisia, Western Sahara, Sudan


9,400,000 km2

Sahara Maps

Related posts

Leave a Comment